Mental Health Forums

Types Of Therapist

addy2

I am going back to trauma therapy I got a letter today with a date to start I don't get my last therapist as she is of sick so I have to start all over again. It says on the letter she is a counselling psychologist is that the same as a psychologist I have never had one before anyone have any experience of this type of therapist?

I went to see a counselling psychologist and she said I was to much in crisis to work with! As far as I understand it they work like a clinical psychologists, still where a clinical psychology its time limited and simply tries to adjust negative behaviour. A counselling psychologist will allow you to explore the reasons behind the bad behaviour but will use much of the same methods as a clinical psychologist. Sorry for the word "bad" I mean it as unwanted not that you have been bad or anything. Most people will have only been treated/or worked with a clinical psychologist since counselling psychologist have to fund themselves in training so they are rare. I was always told a clinical psychologist works like a knife to remove the bad parts, they get in, adjust what needs to be changed. Whereas a counselling psychologist works more as a psychotherapist in that they will explore the why, the expression of how you are feeling and how events have impacted on you in the now. Of course both aim to make you feel better.

I would see going to a counselling psychologists as a rare but good thing. I know its crap having to start again, building up the trust is going to take weeks. Still with the new person is likely going to be longer term and it is really good you are trying therapy again. Although it does not feel like it going to therapy is a brave thing to do *best of luck*