Mental Health Forums

Group Therapy

starryeyesee

I've just started an emotional management course which includes DBT and mindfulness. It's in a group of 6 women, some of which have bipolar and some BPD.

I'm finding it incredibly difficult being part of a group. I'm triggered by some of the others self harm scars to the point where I get home and go into crisis mode for the rest of the night. The only member who is the same age as me has bipolar and is really confident and wants to organise pub meet ups. In the break, everyone talks about their diagnoses.

I am a private person. I don't want to be a part of a group. Next week I have already planned to not get the bus home with them but I'm worried how that will affect the group dynamic. I've never done group therapy before but I feel lucky to be finally getting some DBT.

I'm really struggling with it and feel hopeless that its going to make a difference as I've been unstable for over 20 years.

Any thoughts or tips would be greatly appreciated

starry xxx

Hi