Mental Health Forums

Diagnosis on discharge notice

Nicola_marie

Hey folks. So i was in hospital for 4 months with a diagnosis of mixed anxiety and depressive disorder. Then i requested my notes and i have a secondary diagnosis on there of eupd impuslive type. I dont know if they decided i didnt have eupd so never told me but it was news to me.

Im also a mental health nurse so i was abit upset because i know the stigma in the system of people with eupd and to be honest i didnt want to have to deal with peoples snotty attitudes towards me because of a diagnosis.

After some reading and reflecting i decided i dont care. Its just a label. If i am eupd then thats what i have. I do meet some of the criteria and can see traits for sure. I do switch my moods from morning to night but i dont self harm and only suicidal once in my life and im 29.

Anyways, i dont know whether to now ask for eupd tailored therapy or not say anything. I dont want to push for that diagnosis if its now been changed but i know i have unstable self identity. People with experience getting help from services, what do you think?

hi

it is very hard to get specific help for bpd/eupd anyway so even if you asked for it there may well be nothing available

I have bpd but was not dx until 44

I had not self harmed (well nothing except binge eating and occasional head banging) until just before that time

I had been in a long (though very dysfunctional) marriage, 

and had not had dealings with a&e

but omg my emotions/identity/thoughts/reactions = all over the place with such burning intensity

and of course - I had no idea that other people didn't feel things as badly - and when I felt or was told my reactions were over the top then it just fed

into my being 'wrong and bad' which I already   'knew to be true'  inside my head

as a mh nurse, you know that only a psychiatrist can give you that formal diagnosis, and it is up to you if you take it further or not