Mental Health Forums

Wierd Things Shrinks Say!

realscape

What is the wierdest, strangest, rudest, or just bizarre thing your pdoc or MH worker has ever said to you? Did you understand what they meant? Did you feel upset or angry or puzzled?

My Top 10 - various pdocs / therapists

1) Asked me, for no discernable reason, if I take my clothes off for a living; Huh?

2) Told me, within seconds of our first meeting, that I feel isolated "because it's lonely in the world of the judgemental"; What?

3) Told me there were fairies in the water cooler; OOOOKKK.....

4) First session, first meeting, refused to shake my hand, silently sat and stared at me. First question: "does the individual represent the organisation?"; WTF!!?

5) Refused to believe me about something very distressing (but true) from my childhood that any member of my family could validate; Bitch, should have punched her when had chance.

6) "Re-interpreted" my wanting to commit suicide into me actually wanting to clean my house; Yeah, that'l be it. NOT.

7) Repeatedly told me (4 sessions) that my £15 Primark duffel coat was "the BEST coat" she had ever seen - the whole student population of London was wearing them; Speechless.

8) Told me that my problems are not as bad as I think they are. Then issued 1 wk bef xmas, a surprise stealth dx of: THREE personality disorders, depression since childhood, problems with upbringing, self-injurious behaviour, substance abuse, social probs, and markedly high hostility. Thats not as bad as I thought then!!!?!

9) GP started shouting at me for no reason whatsoever, told me not to come and see her, she isn't my doctor and she won't help me. Afterwards, I checked with receptionist to find out who I am registered to and guess what, it was HER.

10) When told shrink about above strange incident, she said that it was probably my anger at myself that was the cause of the incident; HUH? Should have decked her with the plantpot when had chance.