Mental Health Forums

Depression/stress/anxiety

niceguynorthwales

hello to all

im new to this, have joined to help myself with some problems and hopefully help others who have suffered

i was wondering if anyone could advise me of how they have overcome depression which i found seem to be linked with stress and anxiety, which i hope will help in ridding myself of these complaints entirely.

many thanks

Hi there! I've been depressed since puberty...

I'm not sure that it ever really leaves once it's got it's hook in your heart, but there are a multitude of things you can do to lighten to gloom, and make it a little more barable.

What are your interests? What do you get pleasure out of? Do you enjoy movies, TV, Books? Or do you enjoy getting outside and walking in the fresh air? Do you enjoy cooking, and experimenting in the kitchen? Do you write (creative) or paint, or sculpt? What music makes you tick?

To me, it's all about distracting myself, and trying to keep my mind diverted. It isn't easy (and it doesn't always work :angry: ) but anything that takes your mind from the dark clouds has to be a positive thing.

Otherwise, you could post in here. We're supportive, empathetic (some of us are more that a little peculiar in the head!) and many of us have funnies to offer. There's a great deal of humour in here. It's sometimes hard to believe when we're all so screwed up.

Best advice for the dreadful depression storms is to try to get somewhere safe and comfortable, with people you know and who understand you. Sometimes that isn't always easy, which is why posting in here helps.

On a crazy dippy hippy tone, you could try incense, soothing music and meditation :wacko:

was wondering if anyone could advise me of how they have overcome depression which i found seem to be linked with stress and anxiety, which i hope will help in ridding myself of these complaints entirely.

LOL can you ask an easier question

:welcomeani: