Mental Health Forums

Introduction And Rant, In That Order.

Grimmerie

Hi everyone.

I always feel stupid in introductory posts because I know that a zillion other people have introduced themselves before me and that this post isn't going to be anything that sticks out. I guess I'll just use it to tell you all loads of stuff about myself and then when someone asks what my favorite color is... well, I can just point them here.

It is green.

I'm 21-years-old and was diagnosed with Avoidant Personality Disorder (AvPD?) a few weeks ago. I didn't know anything about it beforehand and the only thing I knew about a personality disorder was what I learned from Girl, Interrupted, haha. I still don't really know what it means or how it could possibly be fixed.

I guess I could tell you what led up to all of this. It started becoming noticeable when I was 16 or something. I was a straight-A student, active in theatre and color guard and marching band and two of the top choirs in my school... you name it, I did it. But I just started doing less and less... I dunno. I started getting online and not doing anything else but that. I stopped going to school things, I missed 50+ days of school a year, I didn't spend time with my family. I've always had horrid self-esteem, certain I'm ugly, certain that no one really likes me, blah blah. And even if I tell myself otherwise or if someone else tries, I don't really believe it. It turned into a bit of an eating disorder for a while and got really ridiculous.

And today, well, it's gotten a lot worse. I'm terrified of going out and can't hold down a job. The only time I go places is with my roommate and I make him do all the talking for me. My feelings are hurt very easily, I don't enjoy anything, I can't express an opinion, what I want... what I don't want... if I like this shirt...