Mental Health Forums

Risperidone

lostsoul

Ok so I saw my psychiatrist today and we had a chat about what drugs I should be put on.

She gave me two options. Prozac, or Risperadone.

She said Risperadone is suitable for BPD, which she has now officially diagnosed me with.

I have menetioned to her that I have had some experiences which could I suppose be classed as mildly pyschotic, but that's the thing - how do you know if they were actually psychotic or even if they were enough psychotic to warrant an anti-psychotic drug like Rieperadone?

I didn't think psychosis was one of my problems. But maybe it is. I just don't know. The more I think about it the more I don't know.

My question is: HAS ANYONE HAD RISPERADONE for BPD and not pyschosis?

As far as my research turns up, it is a drug for straight schizophrenia and psychosis, not a drug used for bpd, SO I AM VERY CONFUSED!

It is used also as a mood stabiliser, I am surprised that the shrink didnt tell ya that. Many drugs have many uses, take for instance, hydroxyzine which is also called, vistaril and atarax, the hydroxizine is used as a sleeping pill and as a antiemetic, to stop ya throwing up, the atarax is used for ppl you have lots of itching. I know what my choice would be, and it wouldnt be Risperal. makes ya gain weight

thanks wabby wub

yeah she never said anything about it acting as a stabiliser. she just said it would help, make me calmer. that's it. SHE SHOULD HAVE SAID. God.

i am a bit worried about this drug because i already have mild hypotension and get dizzy standing up. and this drug gives you hypotension. and she never even asked me if I had blood pressure problems. ??

have you taken it and if so did it help stabilise your moods or was it a waste of time for you. i know its different for everyone but i never heard of it and seems to be one of the least commonly prescribed drugs to people on here. ???

thanks wab.

claire

xx