Mental Health Forums

What Might It Mean To Have A Diagnosis?

Katherine

I don't have a diagnosis. Great, lucky you, you might be thinking.

Me too, mostly.

My background is this -- 6 months with a Counselling Psychologist, then started therapy training, so I had to see a therapist, so I saw an Existential therapist for 9 months. Before really getting down to business with my more analytic (but also Humanistic) current therapist, who I have so far been seeing on an intensive basis for 2 and a half years.

Only last month did I venture to my GP for medication help. For depression, anxiety and panic attacks.

My therapist said a while back that I 'may be' Borderline, and bases some of her interventions on healing the traits.( My tutor once said that I am fairly low down on the BPD scale, that its just really certain things that send me 'there'.) But DSM diagnosis isn't what we're about really. We also work on the basis of PTSD traits.

All this is because

1)I had a traumatic early birth, didn't get the bonding, reassurance and closeness with my mother that would have enabled me to develop the ability to contain intense emotions.

2)My father was very paranoid, possibly close to Borderline himself. There were constant family rows, some domestic violence--which I witnessed, and he threatened to send me away to 'a home for bad children' frequently. Something never acted upon. I am an only child.

3)I was bullied constantly at school from age 7 to 17. Every day I was pursued and tormented, called spas, ugly, titch, E.T. (I have a long neck), beanshoot, brace face (having traintrack braces) etc, my stuff hidden and thrown around. By the time I was 17 the girls threw chairs across the classroom at me. Any weakness or vulnerability---they found it. The teachers did ---- ZILCH. Even blamed me. I survived most by dissociation---and my innate resilience.