Mental Health Forums

Debt

seafree

I don't know where to post this.

From a combination of being a complete shopaholic twat, having to survive on £100 income a month and taking a few too many drugs i'm in over £5,000 of immediate debt.

Problem is i'm a uni student, so options are limited. And i'm not declaring myself bankrupt.

Does anyone have any ideas on where to go/what to do?

Advice much appreciated

Jess x

I guess you're in the UK talking in £s.

Why not go bankrupt? Although I would say it's best to avoid it if you can, especially as you've spent the money on drugs presumably with no reasonable prospect of repayment because you'll be heading for a Bankruptcy Restrictions Order which will increase the 1 year period that the restrictions apply for under a normal bankruptcy.

When you say £5,000 immediate debt, what do you mean? Is the money being demanded in full now? How come you haven't got minimum repayments? If you can't afford minimum repayments bankruptcy is you're only option and if you keep incurring credit it will make things worse.

Go to the CAB or CCS. Don't go somewhere that charges you money.

Hi, I did some voluntary work for the Citizens Advice Bureau.....

The amount of people in financial trouble is amazing, where I was there was a dedicated financial advisor that took on all responsibility for correspondence with banks/ loan companies for everybody that contacted them irrespective of who they were or what their situation was...

In most cases he negotiated a repayment plan of a nominal fee of like £1 a month.....

There's so many people in the same position as you that there are legal mechanisms to protect you from banks and loan companies......