Mental Health Forums

Mental Health Bill

nunorocks

What do people think about the mental health bill? I've been too out of it for quite a while to worry about it, but am suddenly feeling really, really frightened about the whole thing. I'm not too compliant with my meds, so am a little worried about the 'new powers' that will be in the hands of people less qualified than I am (I have a Psych degree...) <_<

Haven't heard anything about the new mental Health Bill ?

I would be interested to know though.

I know some people on incapacity benefit are being tested ( if thats the right word ) -if they don't get "ten Points', they are put back on Jobseekers allowance.

Funny you should mention it......

This actually came up in a teaching session I was in the other week (In which I ended up saying things I shouldn't have done, and effectively "outing" myself to the consultant who was taking the teaching, which with this particular guy wasn't a disaster but.....Basically he made a flippant comment about people with PD's being let loose to commit murder, and I couldn't bring myslef to let that one go...)

I'm far from well versed on the bill itself, but as I understand it, the main problem service user groups and others are having with it is that it would allow people with personality disorders to be detained under the new mental health act, even if they had not actually done anything that warranted it - ie caused harm to themselves on anyone else. Basically the problem that they are trying to address is that a PD is not classed as a mental illness, so technically, you cannot be sectioned for having a PD - at least not on paper.