Mental Health Forums

Hello.

Inachus io

I'm very new to this. It was only Monday when I was sitting in a strange office at the clinic, with my fingers laced together so tightly that they hurt and clenching my jaw to keep my lips from trembling and swallowing against a lump in my throat and thinking fiercely to myself I will not cry, I will not cry in front of these men when I heard it--

"--An extremely low tolerance to stress," the psychiatrist--this stranger who had only made my aquaintance forty minutes before--said, and my regular counselor typed it into the computer. "Diagnosis--Borderline Personality Disorder, severe."

The bottom dropped out from under me. I was falling, and as I plummeted my memory sought and found the little I knew associated with those words--Marilyn Monroe suffered from that. The abnormal psychology textbook I'd read said that Borderlines saw little success in treatment. That Borderlines were prone to a life of drama and crisis, their paths strewn with destroyed relationships, dashed ambitions, striving forever for happiness and doomed to disappointment, forever.

And I remembered that Marilyn Monroe had killed herself, in the end.

I went home. I went into my room. I closed the door behind me, and went to bed--

--and the first thing I thought when I woke up was, God, I'm empty. And then I thought, Oh, stow it. Get up and find out what this thing is. one column in a textbook read fifteen years ago isn't enough knowledge.