Mental Health Forums

A Bit Confused...advice Please...

twistedpingu

Hi everyone, i'm new to this and am just after a bit of advice and reassurance really.....

i've no idea if i actually suffer with BPD and am just wondering if anyone else has the same issues as me as it is really starting to affect how I live my life...

i've always been quite shy and unconfident and from the age of about 14 (i'm now 23) i've suffered prolonged periods of depression and anxiety, which has rarely left me. I've never felt like i fit in anywhere: in school, work or any social group, although i've often had many groups of friends, they've never lasted and gradually fade into nothing, usually within a year or so of meeting them. I don't know if this is because I find it hard to communicate with people. I never feel people actually want to spend time with me and they only invite me out of pity. I rarely contact anyone as I'm in the mindset that they won't want to talk to me and will reject me.

I have a history of self harm, alcohol abuse and excessive spending...to the point where i'm now massively in debt. This leaves me feeling regretful and hateful towards myself for getting into such a mess. I have poor self image and low confidence. I don't feel like i'm capable of achieving anything. I have no idea what kind of person I am anymore, what interests me or what life path I should be taking. I have made no progress in my career as I don't know what my skills are and I am reluctant to go to uni for fear of failing and not fitting in.