Mental Health Forums

Chlorpromazine

charisma82

Has anyone had any side effects when taking Chlorpromazine?

I have OCD, which I've had since I was a child. Started Fluoxitine last Feb 08, but stopped after a couple of weeks.

I went back to GP in in October 08 and was put back on Fluoxitine. Didn't really make much of a difference.

I was later prescribed Chlorpromazine, when I told GP that I was having problems sleeping.

Shortly after taking Chlorpromazine, I couldn't get the image of cutting myself out of my head. I eventually begain cutting myself at the beginning of Dec 08. Something which I have never done before. I felt restless all the time, couldn't sit still and having nose bleeds. At this time I did not recognise the link between taking Chlorpromazine and SH.

I went back to my GP and told him about the Self-harming. He referred me to the Crisis Team, who continued to prescribe me Chlorpromazine. During the time that I was taking Chlorpro, I continued to have nose bleeds, feeling restless and having the urge to cut myself. It seemed like I was constantly at A&E receiving treatment for SH.

I SH at work on 19/12/08, stupid I know. I was in a disassociated state at the time. Since I have not taken the drug, the urge to SH has subsided. I still think about it, but I think that because I SH over several weeks every second day, it kind of became apart of my thoughts.

There are other SSRI's they could possibly try, such as paroxetine, zoloft. Have you ever tried clomipramine? That is not an SSRI but has been found to be effective for OCD.

• 3 weeks later...

I have taken it in the past, a low dose (no more than 50mg a day) can be benificial. But while I was hospitalised they wacked it up to 200mg a day, and it basically turned me into a zombie, my family fortunately complained about it, and when I got out of hospital I got myself off it. I gained 3 stone in weight too! I would never takeit again.