Mental Health Forums

Wants To Try Me On Mirtazapine

marc-74

PDOC, wants to try me on mirtazapine, and get me off citalopram, If anyone can help me out here please let me know, a bit about it, I know everyone gets differant side effect, ...just not sure what to do right now.

cheers marcx

Hi,

If you go on it make sure you do a lot of exercise as it increases your appetite (they give it to anorexics for this reason).

I tried it for about a year and it helped a lot (although I was prescribed it for anxious depression NOT BPD) although I came off it as all the depressive symptoms had ceased, leaving me with all my BPD symptoms. This might mean that it will only help with specific BPD symptoms - i'm no professional etc. I came off it the wrong way too- without slowly decreasing the dose which will worsen the symptoms again.

My side effects were definitely worth the benefits- REALLY vivid dreams (not usually nightmares though), black tar on the roof of my mouth in the morning, occasional pins and needles and difficulty getting up in the morning (which I had anyway).

The side effects are stronger at first and they really knock you out when you start them- low doses are sedating, which help you sleep, but higher doses are not. There is some derealization too so avoid driving until this subsides.

If better concentration is what you are after, they seem to work as I took one yesterday- I don't think I could have concentrated enough to write this yesterday (been asleep for 24 hours tho)

Good luck

xx

Hi,

If you go on it make sure you do a lot of exercise as it increases your appetite (they give it to anorexics for this reason).