Mental Health Forums

Ocd Sufferer Returning To Work - Help!

claire31

Hi, I've not been on here for a few weeks. Think I've been kidding myself that things have been getting better.... Just need to whinge to somebody and i'm affraid its on here! I suffer from OCD relating to contamination. My fear is that I have a disease (even though I don't) that I will pass it onto someone else and they will die and it will be my fault. I've been off work for 4 months and I am now on a phased return to get back to my normal hours. I work as a nurse so the contamination thing is a real problem. Having CBT and that is helping in everyday life, but feel at work that all my fears are concentrated there. No body except my boss at work is aware and I am really struggling. Getting myself into a state before I go in, can't touch anything there and come home in a panic that I've forgotten something or have touched something that someone else will touch :( . Any advice?! Occupational health really keen for me to be back and I can't stay off forever but at this rate I'm gonna go mad! Therapist really good and gives me experiments for the exposure and cognitive thinking strategies, but at work I just feel like I am drowning and cannot breathe. Any one experienced the same, or any advice? Can't go on like this and can't keep pretending that everything is fine.

Sorry i've ranted on!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for reading, take care to all of you. Sending lots of hugs x x x

Hello claire31

I get OCD tendencies and I am very familiar with kidding myself that things have been getting better....

I think that where we go wrong, is that we dont belive deep down that things are getting better, maybe we are responding to percieved outside pressures.

Things will get better, if we believe them to, if we have an inner knowing that they will.