Mental Health Forums

Hi I'm New Here

karen a

Hi I'm new here.

I am far from a newly depressed patient though, it's been a lifelong battle. I'm 46 now. Been on Mirtazapine long term but been feeling like sh*t for ages. Husband finally had enough and told me how ill I am at the weekend. Been to doc this morning who's said I have resistant depression and will come off the Mirtazapine slowly and try venlafaxine, the only one I've never been on I think. Then I'll go and see someone to talk to.

Feeling as though maybe he's only ever had half a story as I have never considered the "ups" and highs I have whilst unmedicated to be a problem (I'm an artist and they are very creative times). I miss the highs and feel so low and bland now that I am negative all the time.

My biggest worry is that I don't want to destroy the relationship with my husband, we've been friends for 13 years, together for 6 and married for just over 2, and he didn't know how bad my depression was before we were together. How could he,I was always so pleased to see him!

I'm going to explore this forum.

Hello to all of you.

Karen

Hi and welcome Karen

Hope you find the site very useful. We are a very friendly bunch here and will always help/support you best we can.

I myself am on venlafaxine and find it OK but meds work differently for individuals.

I hope your relationships works out OK. It will take work and effort on both parts but will be well worth it.

Take Care

Leslie x

Hi there and welcome! Good to have you with us. Venlafaxine is considered to be one of the best for depression, although I had to stop using it because of side affects not agreeing with me. Good luck with it. Hope to hear more from you soon. Beishek.