Mental Health Forums

Scared Of Doing It Again

amy84

Paracetamol overdose  

26 members have voted

1. 1. Has anyone else taken a paracetamol overdose?

• Yes, once
    • No
    • No but have taken something else
    • Yes, more than once

This is my first time on here...

Last Wednesday I took a paracetamol overdose, it was my third time, although this latest one was the worst. I've been taking fluoxetine (prozac) for three years, decided to come off it, and then when it stopped working I lost control and ended up doing what I did.

It wasn't that I sat there with 20 pills and swallowed them all at once, I took them a couple at a time, thinking it would help, thinking it would stop me feeling the way I was, stop me crying... and then I realised I'd taken about 14. I'd been talking to a friend on messenger, who was so kind and came straight over (a good 50 mile trip) and took me to hospital.

I was on parvolex infusion for 24 hours to prevent liver damage, but now I keep panicking thinking at some point in the future some serious damage will surface.

The thing is, although I'm beginning to feel a bit more positive now, and am getting some more help, I'm scared that in the future the same thing will happen and I'll end up doing it again. I feel so ashamed of myself when I do it, and hate having to tell people because I can see how much it hurts them to know I've done it to myself.

And then I'm scared that if I do ever do it again, they'll try sectioning me or something...

The first two times I did it, I didn't do any damage or take enough to need treatment, but now I'm so worried I've seriously hurt myself. The doctors said my blood levels were ok when I was eventually discharged, but that there could be longterm damage that won't appear for some time.

Has anyone else been in that situation? Or at least offer me some advice?