Mental Health Forums

Fluoxetine Makes Me Tremble, Fidget And Jerk

an9i

Always been a bit of a fidgeter but now on fluoxetine was on citalopram but wasn't working, so changed to fluoxetine now I can't stop fidgeting and jerking my legs all the time, is this normal? it's like I have an excess of nervous energy. Not sure if this just a short term side effect as i'm new to it or if it will persist.

not sure

but i was on seroxat years ago and had v similar (I think they are same sort of drug)

loads jerking, endless yawning, vivid dreams, and waking 5+ times a night -

it got a bit less but never went away so stopped after 6 months

stopped me killing myself tho

how long have you been taking fluoxeitine? im only asking because citalopram made me agitated amongst other things and it took a few days for it to get out of my system. it does take a few weeks for the new pills to start taking effect but if you are concerned go back and see you doc to be on the safe side *hug*

Hi Sloane ranger

The doc changed me straight from Citalopram to Fluoxetine, this happened apx one week ago. I spoke to the duty doc but when I saw my GP again he said I should have tapered off. So I guess I may have both drugs in my system now? Maybe the duty doc should have told me to taper off rather than just switch from one to the other.

I'm getting frustrated (and as a BPD can't handle frustration!) cos I was on citalopram for four months and it's made little difference, so I need this one to work!

Kind of thinking will anything make any difference? I mean, I read that they gave the prisoners in guantanamo bay prozac, but suprise suprise they remained depressed because they were locked in cages for 24 hours a day and brought out only to be tortured...

What I'm trying to say is, the antidepressants can only go so far really can't they?

Hi Walker