Mental Health Forums

My Martial Arts Experiment

hummm_mabbe

Hello

Ok so this is my first contact with people in the last 2 years or so. It was a very mixed experience, but I think on the whole positive. I may have chosen a slightly overly challenging task for firsties, but hey ho, it was the most avialable.

THE GOOD:

1. I think generally people seemed friendly, and I didnt say anything to piss anyone off - at least not anyone who was entirely normal (more on that later)

2. I felt I did quite well- I havent done any sparring for 11 years, and I think I did ok. My movment was alright, I landed some shots. I was restrained.

3. I was effing brave enough to do sparring first time I go to a class! Thats like REAL BASHIE PEOPLE THEM BASHING ME TOO type thing.

4. There were two gits, both of whom hit far too hard considering it was light sparing AND im a beginner. Thankfully, the other guys there all warned me about them, and when one bloke nearly knocked my teeth out, another beginner saw it. It was good because he was able to validate that it was wrong, that it wouldnt have been wrong to be annoyed. I actually think I hndled it well - I told the guy I didnt have a gum shield. He seemed to think he had done nothing wrong - and suddenly all the stuff I know about psychology kicked in. I could see that was his inablity to accept his own negative behaviour, rather then me being 'weak'.

5. Most of the guys were helpful and held back a lot.

THE BAD:

1. Therw were two gits who hit too hard. Now yes I know that they are included in the good, but I was put off going there a bit because of them. Everyone else agreed they are assholes - the other beginner guy said "im going to get really fit so I can panel the f***er" - the guy had hit him hard enough that he bit his own tongue and it was bleeding. The other fellow just seemed very narcissistic, a bit of a prima donna, and just seemed to enjoy hitting people. No one spoke to him the whole night.