Mental Health Forums

My Addictions Thread :)

Lauren

So its no suprise to most of you here, Lorna needs to get a grip on her addictions.

I have been saying for a few years now that I need to sort it out.

So kinda like when you are on a diet im going to do it in a public way.

I am hoping that by being honest here and sharing my sucess and failures with everyone it may motivate me and help me on my way.

After all I cant stand being seen as a failure.

The whole idea of taking the not drinking 'one day at a time' freaks me out to be honest. I am fairly ok with a day of it knowing that I can trick myself into thinking that if i manage a day I can 'reward' myself with a bottle of wine tommorow.

It doesnt work that way.

I also need to set clear small goals this time I think. So I would like to set it at a week. But just the thought of that is incredibly daunting and those feelings from past experience are just setting me up to fail.

So my very first goal is to make it to 4 days sober. This will be the longest I have been sober in 4 years. Including tonight 4 days makes it to sunday morning.

I am going to keep checking in to this thread. If anyone else really feels ready to get rid of any addiction feel free to join me. But this time I will do it. Please support me in this. I really dont want to hear you havent failed if I screw up because I know I will have.

I refuse to be a middle aged lush in ten years time with my son ashamed to bring friends home to his waster mother.

Here we go the..... :wacko:

• Replies 132
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The plus side:

* 50 pounds plus a week better of ( 200 a month, 2400 a year!!!! )

* more energy

* (long term) less anxiety

* weight loss

* meds will be far more efficient

* more productive

* (long term) better quality of sleep

* can stop worrying about the state of my liver

* hopefully my heart rate will calm down a bit

How to reach my goal: