Mental Health Forums

Please Help Me To Help Others

maz1967

Hi I'm a front line Paramedic, I joined this website because I am having some anxiety and depression issues.

But having sat and read some of your posts it struck me that the training given to us on mental health issues is grossly inadequate. There is just so much I don't know or understand.

I thought to myself who better to ask than the people who suffer (like me), since I started to suffer from anxiety and panic attacks my treatment of my patients with these problems has improved ten fold, because now I understand more about how it feels and how to help.

They say you need to walk a mile in another man's shoes before you can understand him, well I have to say that I don't really want to walk in anyone else's shoes (I have enough problems of my own at the moment) but If I can learn a bit more from you guys about how your illnesses affect you and how I as a health care professional can help in any small way then it will make me a better Paramedic and hopefully improve my treatment of my patients.

so please feel free to tell me what it is you suffer from, how it affects you and how I could help you if called upon.

thanks

If you get called to someone who has taken an overdose, don't belittle them and treat them like something you trod on. If told they have a personality disorder don't assume they are just manipulative and attention seeking, or that it is 'just a cry for help'. It may be, but that person is still experiencing intense pain, and deserves respect. Once at the hospital, don't just leave them to sit in the waiting area, frightened and spaced out, or make them show their empty tablet boxes to the booking in people, for every one to see.