Mental Health Forums

My Story

Kiwi

Sorry for the long post!! ^_^

I'm going through massive ups and downs at the moment.... well, maybe more downs than ups.

I'm a New Zealander who currently lives and studies in France. I've been living here for almost 4 years and my time in France has been a giant struggle! I'm doing a PhD and it has not been wonderful. I've spent many months in tears and many more months wondering what the hell I'm doing here. I've seen people for my mental health (and it's pretty hard to explain to a French doctor in French what is going on) and spent 3 months during the summer of 2009 on medical leave. I'm taking 20mg per day of Escitalopram (I started on 5mg, then 10mg and my NZ doctor said I need to be on 20mg which I am on now).

I've been harassed at the university by my supervisor (and in the street by a horrid man - visiting a French police station is not fun), so much so, that I've questioned my intelligence and been made to feel so small, stupid and that I don't count. I've had things said about me to colleagues working in the same field and I've almost given up on my field of study (something that I've loved and felt so passionate about) because of this PhD. I'm filled with anxiety, dread, I hide in the hallways trying to avoid my supervisor, and my stupid eye has started twitching again!!

I feel like I don't have anyone I can trust in a position of power at uni. Everyone knows what the supervisor is like, yet I've been in this situation for 4 years. I have a terrible PhD because I've had to work out everything myself. I've spent too much time trying to figure out how to do stuff because my supervisor doesn't know how to do anything himself... yet I'm made to look like the useless student who is late and doesn't do any work.