Mental Health Forums

Intrusive Thoughts/visions

Feehlo382

I've been suffering with OCD for about five years now (forgetting earlier signs when I was a kid) but literally today a new symptom has emerged. I've had some experience with intrusive thoughts before, but now I'm getting unstoppable intrusive internal images. All day on and off I've been seing a finger being cut off with a guillotine, and for an hour or so earlier I was seeing images of me fallinng down stairs and it's really not pleasent.

Just under two months ago my medication was changed from fluoxetine to mirtazapine to aid my depression (so far, it's barely done anything) because although my OCD was still severe it wasn't getting any worse. And now, although the rituals haven't worsened this is now becoming quite disturbing and is inhibiting thinking normally (well, as normally as I can manage :rolleyes:).

What are your experiences and how do you deal with it?

Hi there

Is it a hallucination, in that you are literally seeing these things as though they were really happening, or are they kind of 'mind images', like a picture you see in your head?

Hi there

Is it a hallucination, in that you are literally seeing these things as though they were really happening, or are they kind of 'mind images', like a picture you see in your head?

They're mind images. I'm luucky in that I've never had any serious hallucinations :).