Mental Health Forums

5 Star Luxury

Saharah Blue

I am hoping that by posting this I do not come across as being utterly shallow, because this really is about self esteem and self worth.

I have not seen my bf in almost a year now, we live in separate countries and there have been a lot of obstacles keeping us us part during this time. Finally, finally we are going to be able see each other. I am both nervous and excited.

Today we were looking for a hotel online, initially I wanted a very romantic hotel. As a designer I am likely more than most drawn to the architecture and detailing that boutique hotels offer. So, we swapped links and talked on the phone and I kept coming back to the 5 star cosmopolitan hotels. The longer we looked the more everything else started to look starkly cheap, tawdry and depressing in comparison. Well it would wouldn't it?

We decided to have a think and come back to it later. I got off the phone and really started to struggle with whether or not I was worth the money. I mean, I couldn't ask my bf if I were worth it up front without starting a self worth discussion, I would be creating obstacles that way. Since I didn't feel like I could do that I started talking myself into lowering my expectations it depressed me. While I was feeling deflated about not knowing how to talk about this. I just took it down a huge notched and decided we shouldn't even stay in the city, because clearly it was too much money and I was at the center of that problem.

Now, he has said nothing about not splurging and at no point did he ever say no, I won't do that, or I can't or I wouldn't.

In my head I hear a voice saying how dare you want so much sah, how greedy and impractical you are, what have you done to deserve such a fine treat. You do not work hard, you do not understand the value of money or what length people go to earn and save, you just ride a wave of selfish emotional mood swings with no structure or much consideration for anyone but yourself.