Tray

who works  

66 members have voted

1. 1. do you work if so what hours

• dont work at the moment
    • part time less than 16 hours a week
    • between 16 and 30 hours a week
    • full time more than 30 hours a week

i was just wondering who works, and if they do are they part time or full?

I am asking cause i have worked before my dx and after but again have been made redundant (end of oct) and am looking for work again.

my pdoc says at the mopst i can only work part time, ie less than 25 hours per week, but those jobs are few and far between. i have next months mortgage payment and then imscrewed so today have applied for a full time role, local to me so no travelling time, with an agency. have to go register tomoz and see how it goes, its only till end of \jan so i reckon i should manage that shouldnt i???

I am not a doctor but in my experience its not as simple as the number of hours a week that you work, although that is a factor. Its also about..

How long are the shifts? 6 hours a day for 4 days a week is probably easier to manage than 8 hours a day for 3 days a week

How sympathetic are your employers? Will they let you take a 5 minute break every now and again if you just can't cope?

Are there any triggers present in the work? We all have our own individual triggers, for example loud noise is one of mine.

How nice are your work colleagues? You never know this until you start, but sometimes you get a "vibe".

Hi Tracy,

I work a full time job and have been in it for 3 years now, and was only diagnosed in March this year. I won't lie, 2009 I had to have just over a month off work due to the BPD and 2010 I was off for over 2 months after a failed suicide attempt. But I find that work helps to create some sort of routine in a life where I don't seem to have any control over anything.