Mental Health Forums

Please Give Me Your Diagnosis

steve_uk

Hello all,

Please bare with me. This is going to be a long and probably confusing post but I would really appreciate your opinions before I speak to my GP.

My name is Steve. I'm 24yrs old and live with my beautiful girlfriend and 5mth old daughter. I live a very standard life. I work in the security industry, supervising a team of lads who look after a shopping centre. I live in a normal house in a normal estate with normal people around me.

A bit of background on myself. I was bought up by a single mom. I got reintroduced to my biological father at the age of 11 when he was released from prison. He and my mom got back together and it was a very rocky relationship until they finally seperated again when I was 18.

From the age of 11 I saw my dad beat my mom quite badly on the odd occasion as well as myself. They were both regular cannabis smokers for years with the odd bit of speed thrown in here and there. It was not a very nice 'childhood' but I do not hold it against them to be honest. Each person has there own way of bringing up a child and my mom was always there for me. Still to do this day. She would die for me.

Moving on.....

From the age of 13-17 I experimented with all the drugs I could get my hands on. I loved to escape the place I was meant to call home. I would regurlarly dissapear for weekends and I was very rarely at school.

I need someone to give me their own diagnosis/opinion before I approach my GP because to be perfectly honest he is a waste of time.

What I would call my symptoms...

Since my teenage years I have had a very bad temper. Regulalry lashing out at people around me including those I hold dear and myself.

I've always felt a need to impress people and do random things that I would never normally do. Sometimes I get a feeling like I've taken a drug, I get so high for no apparent reason and my emotions run wild.