Mental Health Forums

Are Women Treated Equally Or Not?

angelk01

Hello everyone just wanted to start this thread.

Are women treated on an equal basis to men?

I mean in terms of pay, work activities and in general

in everyday life like in the political sphere?

I wanted to start this thread as i feel like women are still

subjected to male dominance in terms of the amount of candidates

in each election like local constituencies although there was a successful

woman candidate in Brighton Pavillion of the green party but apart

from that there is still a subordination of women to be homemakers

and take care of domestic chores. :(

This is a debate thread i wanted to create as i'm studying History

at college and is always discussed in class in terms of historically

in the early 20th century but i feel this question is relevant nowadays

as there are stiill many issued to contend with for women.

Please let me know your thoughts. xxx

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

In UK pay is not equal and some employers don't want to employ women that they think may be starting a family because of maternity pay and leave.

I believe in traditional roles and I find that it is difficult for young women now. Binge drinking and promiscuity isn't good for men or women. Overall I don't want to be treated as a male I want to be treated as a female with respect. In some sections women are under represented but I do feel it is sad more women don't bring up their own children because of wanting or needing to work.

Yeah i agree i think women should be treated with respect they need to have

the same opportunities as men and even when working part-time

should have the same hourly pay as well as company benefits so there

needs to be more respect shown by men.

Sometimes they treat women workers as inferior as we were reading this

in some case studies at college. men treat women badly like dirt