Mental Health Forums

When The Therapist Gets Too Involved. Anybody Else Experienced This?.

angel tears

Hi

I have been attending a therapy group now for over 6 years. In that time i have made some good progress but i have been struggling with the fact that the therapist was getting too involved in my care and that it wasn't a healthy relationship any longer. It all seemed to start when i had trouble with my children and i was fighting social services to try and get my baby back. My therapist went way over the mark. She gave me her personal mobile number to contact her out of hours if i needed any advice. At the time i was quite isolated and i took the offer and contacted her for extra support even though we shouldn't have been doing that. Over time it became a regular pattern. I would need some extra support and she always provided it. In a crisis or if i was struggling at the time with an abusive relationship she would ring me and speak to me, helping me to calm down when i was anxious.

When it came to fighting for my daughter she got very involved and wanted to attend the meetings to help back me up. I thought that this was a good thing as i had somebody else helping me to fight....... but also at the same time she asked me to keep the extra support quiet as she could get sacked for it or suspended. At times she gave me advice which made things worse....... she hid when i was in potential danger etc and then when she decided to tell other professionals she asked me not to tell anybody that she had known for longer. My case didn't end well with my baby and i couldn't get her back....... i was struggling with how i felt and i attended group. As soon as i mentioned that i was struggling listening to other ladies discussing their children i couldn't cope and left the room. Things got heated with me and another member and i left, we both had harsh words to say and i haven't been back.