Mental Health Forums

My Horrible Stupid Job Which I Hate And Never Asked For

lonelyheartemma

I'm doing this job my mum got for me. this woman she knows through work asked her if i would be her website updater. my mum said yes without asking me. now i'm stuck doing it, i've been doing it for years and i just dont want to do it anymore but i feel completely trapped.

I have written this list of reasons why i dont want to do it anymore but i'm too scared to show it to the woman or my mum because they both really scare me. I think maybe i should not show her the 1st 2 tho.

I never said I wanted to do this. I was just told I was going to do it.

I really hate the work. I get NO enjoyment from it whatsoever and never have.

I find it really stressful. It's stupid but I have trouble even thinking about it without crying.

I find it very difficult- I haven't really studied computer stuff and I'm not very good at it.

I think the work is actually very simple. But it takes me hours to do it, hours to redo it because I've made mistakes and it takes ages to work out what I've done wrong. When I've finally made it look right I get emails complaining I've done things wrong.

It's a site for illustrators. Art really isn't my subject so I don't have any idea about how to order the pictures in the most attractive way.

The woman I work for wants me to redesign the site and I don't know how to do that.

I told her about 2-3 years ago that the job isn't for me and I'd appreciate it if she'd look for someone else. I said I'd stay until she found someone but I've got a feeling she hasn't been looking at all. Is 2-3 years a reasonable time to wait? (I've probably got a copy of the email when I told her that so I could probably find out how long ago that was)