Mental Health Forums

......newbie Here.......

dbtzombie

Hi....

Where to start.....The stats about me? The diagnosis? Treatment? Or how the heck I have ended up the person I am......and where I'm going from here......

Stats: Sarah, 35, single (not interested in relationship), pet lover, terribly short and currently overweight. Hobbies: cross-stitch, reading, knitting, crochet, TV, and gardening (when I can be bothered!).

Diagnosis: BPD, PTSD, Depression, EDNOS (previously - not current).

Treatment: Currently in a DBT programme, previous therapies include: general counselling, some CBT, and a few weeks of CAT (till self-harm went through the roof). Current drug regimen: quetiapine 75mgs @ night (I take other meds for physical illness). This is probably the least psychiatric medication I have ever taken, have been prescribed so many different meds in the past, my previous psychiatrist asked me what I thought would work and what I wanted to take lol.

So, all about why I'm here......easy answer.....my childhood.

Abuse by my mother, step-father, 2 uncles and a family friend.

My step-father was the only person prosecuted.....9 months in prison.....out in half that time for 'good behaviour'.

My mother and him knew how to work the 'system'. Immediately back into the family home for abuse to continue.

Went into fostercare @ 15, assaulted by a friends boyfriend, had a termination.

Once I had left care, was involved in several tempestuous relationships, ending up in a women's refuge.

Then I went into supported accommodation, which worked ok, for a while, till my behaviour repeatedly sabotaged it.

Currently live in my own place. Sometimes things are ok, other times everything is chaos, order and peace are craved.

My emotions are dysregulated, my behaviours - not to be desired. But, deep within, there is a butterfly waiting to find her wings.