Mental Health Forums

Scared Me Into Action

Jelly-bean

My cousin is dying she lost her dad this time last year, and a few weeks later was dx with over 80% bladder cancer, which she had removed including her womb, and some of her bowel, she had been told let herself heal had check ups and nothing was picked up a few weeks they told her she had secondary bone cancer in her pelvic area.... now the other day they told her it's every where in her body and she has weeks to live not even a month...

What's made me think is I as my cousin have diabetes and I don't have control of it as my cousin didn't either I'm constantly getting bladder infections same as my cousin ... I have got to get control of my diabetes now to be honest I'm not good with taking my meds always been a issue with me same as my cousin.... I'm not saying I have cancer but I'd rather prevent and this is a wake up call for me .... I'm devastated for my cousin .... we were very close, at one point I offered to be her Seragat mum for her to have a chance of being a mum which she didn't take me up on the offer but I ment it and would have for her... love her .... and will miss her badly .... so yeah it's going to be hard to look after myself... but things have got to change for sure ....