Mental Health Forums

Advice For Data Next Week - New Job

Data

Next week I start a great new job. I am nervous! I am going to be working as an artificial intelligence programmer on design problems within an engineering company. It will be scary as the AI techniques involved are not ones I've used before. Also, I am not that strong on engineering maths, so I will have some of that to learn. And the programming language they use is something I have no commercial experience of (I have dabbled in it as a hobby).

However, I remind myself that I am a good match for the job. I have nearly a year of commercial programming experience, so I can do it. And I have a PhD in the application of artificial intelligence to computer-aided design systems, the job only needs an MSc so I am over-qualified. The company seem to have a high opinion of me which may mean they have high expectations, which scares me.

So far, the advice to myself is:

1. Try and stay positive.
  2. If in doubt as to whether to say something, better to stay silent.
  3. Make eye contact, but do not stare.
  4. Try and be confident.
  5. Listen carefully to other people.
  6. Know yourself. Don't try and eliminate difficult emotions, deal with them.

For number 5: If I don't know the answer to a problem, I must not don't panic - you WILL learn the answer, if I just give myself time.

Number 6 is particularly important. One of the things that is strange to me is that I resent the complex nature of my employment status. I am employed by a Scottish university, but I work at an English engineering company. I think I'll end up losing out because I will be pulled between my two masters. Also, my new supervisor seems a bit aloof and dictatorial. My feelings on these things might be illogical, but sometimes trying to reason them away can be dangerous. I have to be aware of how I am feeling, and how that influences what I think and say, and how that affects other people.