Mental Health Forums

Dbt Group Too Hard - Shutting Down Emotionally

brisbane

I’m really struggling in my DBT group and want to quit, it just seems so pointless and is getting so much less enjoyable and harder to go. Things started off so well but I’ve been progressively closing down more and more each week, to the point where i say so little and no longer connect emotionally.

I was really fond of my one on one therapist, who co-facilitates the group. I even told him i was getting attached to him and was worried he might leave, something i’ve never done before, and it felt good to share, somehow the therapy boundaries are clear with him. But a few weeks ago he said i was intellectual and he questioned what i am doing with what we discuss. And yet the week before he had helped me heal something old and deep – and each time we met i was acting differently at least in some small ways, so i was translating our discussions into action. Yet somehow I value his opinion more than my experience of the situation, I feel that what he asked must be right. And I felt incredibly hurt – he himself is an intelligent guy – we often come up with similar types of answers and do well in word games – we play games in the last 30 mins of group, and i felt intelligence, or more the way our brains work with puzzles, was something we had in common. And then he went and criticised me for it. I told him at the time that I felt it was a criticism. And now i feel he doesn’t like me, so i don’t open up anymore and just go through the motions in our one on ones, so they achieve nothing.