Mental Health Forums

Really Struggling At Work

Data

I am employed by a university to do advanced computer programming within a company that does engineering design. I have my own 3 year project which I am about 9 months into. Before I did this, I did a programming job which wasn't so good and was miles away from my family home for a year, and before that I did a PhD. I am 41 years old. I have my own project to develop artificial intelligence techniques and incorporate them into the company's software project.

I hate my job. It may be interesting, but its stressful. I am really struggling with it. You'd think that with my education I'd welcome a mental challenge, but I am really struggling, and not in a nice way. My wife thinks I need to look around for other jobs. Its really hard though, I live in a very low tech area with very few software jobs and that is why in 2013 I had to work 130 miles away and rent a second home. I only saw my wife and children on weekends. They are not prepared to move as it would mean the kinds changing school.

The reason why I don't like my job is because I don't feel they give me enough support, and that I am pressurised by the management, and that I really don't get on with my supervisor. The supervisor is a programmer based in the engineering company who has worked there for 20 years. My line manager is a professor at the university who is based 280 miles away.

The stress is making it hard for me to diet (I am obese), control my drinking (I often have too much on an evening) and its affecting my relationships with my family. Often I spend hours on an evening hiding with my headphones on, I just don't want to speak to anyone.

It is a vicious circle. When I get stressed I can't concentrate and make poor decisions and it slows progress at work and then I get more stressed......