Mental Health Forums

Feeling A Little Lost.

bm33x

Hi, I've never done anything like this before and am nervous but I'm a little lost at the moment so willing to try. I'm 35 and my GP suspects I have BPD so he referred me to a psychiatrist about a year and a half ago. I made it to one appointment and typical poor follow through resulted in my being struck off. So I haven't been diagnosed but based on my history, that's just a formality.

I've never been on any medication or had CBT / DBT and I don't really have anyone to talk to when I'm struggling. Over the past year I've shut myself away and have been self-medicating to get through each day / to keep myself under control. I work and am capable of pretending that I fit into life somewhere but the truth is, I don't feel like I belong anywhere any more.

Last August my partner passed away just as we were planning to marry and start a family. She had a 15 year history of extremely abusive relationships and as a consequence, had battled with alcoholism for much the same length of time. What I now recognise as BPD, I had always just put down to an uncanny ability to attract and get myself into trouble. I had gotten into trouble on the Friday, was arrested, and despite explaining my partner's struggle / begging the officers not to leave her alone, they did exactly that. She died of alcohol toxicity sometime on the Sunday and lay undiscovered in our home until I was released on the Monday. She was the kindest most gentle creature that ever graced this world and she was everything to me. She was so understanding of my issues.....she used to say that she even loved the bad in me. I should have been there to look after her and I let her down.