Mental Health Forums

Hi :) Also A New Member

Abigail.2905

Hello everyone, (or who ever is reading)

My name is Abigail. I guess it's only polite to introduce yourself. I'm happy to be now be a member of this forum. I hope to meet people that are in a similar situation. To introduce myself briefly: I am 26 years old. Was diagnosed with bpd when I was 15. Since then, I have been hospitalized for a few years and thought I would never be able to have a 'normal' life. Against all odds, I got myself into university and graduated this summer. I am now a graduate student. Ever since I got into uni I've been trying to neglect my problems and things seemed fine. I was fooling myself. Last week I had one of my 'breakdowns' again and now I'm ready to admit that it is there and I want to be able to be honest and don't act like nothing is there. I'm proud of what I am but things are hard for me in life.

For me, bpd can also have bright sides: being emotional also means that you can be really happy and see life as a precious thing. I hope to support people and also be supported when I don't believe in that anymore..

Warm wishes,

Abigail

Welcome Abigail, sounds like you're trying really hard, and have achieved quite a bit the last couple years, that's got to be a good thing. Well done.

Allie :)

Hi Abigail,

Your story sounds similar to mine. I too have spent a lot of time in hospital, and have struggled with BPD since I was a teenager. I am currently in recovery and have gone back to studying for my degree.

It's hard to admit things are slipping when you've had a good run isn't it? I had to drag myself back to the doctors a few weeks ago to get back on my meds. I am still coping, better than ever really, but I realise now that I need the medication to stay afloat.

Be kind to yourself, it is OK to have bad days/weeks, as long as you know what to do to come through them and remember that it won't always feel this bad.