Mental Health Forums

Broken Trust

lightworker

after taking an overdose 3 weeks ago my husband refused to take me home so i ended up in hospital for 2 weeks im now home trying to get back to some sort of normality, my mum phones every day so does dad finding the constant attention is too much my hubby took holiday when i came out and refused to leave me on my own at home, what has made matters worse was that he told his brother what had happened but his girlfriend then told my niece all the details when she visited last sat, im fuming with her it was not up to her to say anything its my personal information, well im seeing her tonight and im just going to have to say something to her, im not good at confrontation so the situation is making anxious again. but at least i now know not to trust her anymore.

trying to get the guts to phone my niece about it.

lightworker

(((((lightworker))))) I'm so sorry your niece did that, it's such a private thing and it's up to you who knows. My mum is always talking to people about my physical problems and it's horrible knowing the whole street knows about my digestion, it's just not their business!

I would deal with your brother's girlfriend before you speak to your niece, it's probably better to deal with one problem at a time and the conversation with your brother's girlfriend might affect the situation with your niece in some way, for example if they've had another conversation about it since then.

Have you told your husband about how you feel about everyone knowing? If he can help you talk to your brother's girlfriend that might make it easier. But even if he can't help I'm sure you can do it. Confrontation is really difficult but maybe you could think of it as explaining rather than confronting? You haven't actually got to tell her off or anything.

Hi