Mental Health Forums

Religion

burning wing

I was raised as a Christian, and my parents were very religious, actually, not normally religious. They made me fast and pray, and if I didn't, they beat me. They are extremely religious and follow every word as it is written, and they thought they did good for me as they were very cruel to me, because they thought I would grow up more Christian then. And now religion is a traumatic question for me and very triggering. Now that I am a student and live separately from my parents, I have sort of freedom to choose how to live. Whenever I read something or talk about religion, I get very depressed and can't help crying constantly for a few days. I have no desire to pray or fast or follow any Christian values. But on the other hand, I believe God does exist and He isn't as cruel as my parents taught me. But I feel very guilty for not going to Church, not praying, not fasting, not following any rules. And I can't make myself. I want God to accept me as I am, unconditionally, with me not doing anything for it. But religion teaches us it doesn't happen, one needs to fight his sins and so on. I don't want to go to hell after I die, although it seems not to matter, since I have already been and am there. I am constantly afraid that everything I do or think is sinful, even though it may not be, and I cannot make myself be a Christian, and I cannot make myself believe there is no God (although I tried to). I always end up believing I'm the worst person in the world, completely unworthy of any love and care from God. I'm tired of fighting myself or religion inside myself, and I can't get these weird pieces of me in order. :crying_anim:

we think god loves you whether you know 'him' or not and whether you pray or not and whether you go to church or not

and his heart, if he had one like a human, would go out to you for your suffering

he is not cruel

and he DOES love you and accept you unconditionally

that's what we believe