Mental Health Forums

Depression

ry82

I don't know where to start or even what to say, all I can feel is the pain and how pointless my life is. I am a qualified accountant working in a warehouse because I lost everything 7 years ago. I lost my fiancee, she took my son, I lost my job, I was in a very dark place and done some very silly things trying to end it all.

Years of struggling, cbt, crisis Team, everything, I thought things were turning round. I'm married, have a 3yo daughter, see my son. I stopped taking venlafaxine 6 months ago, against my doctors advice. I thought things were ok, then over Christmas I got ill and it really knocked the stuffing out of me. Me and my wife started having troubles, we had a temporary split which tore me apart.

I was sat in my car with tablets just wanting to end it. The only thing that stopped me was a photo of my little girl and son. Anyway me and wife got back together but things are so wrong, it feels like I am here to wait on her so she can go to work. She won't let me kiss or cuddle her. We don't talk, if I try to tell her how I feel she threatens to leave me.

It is killing me, I feel so fed up with life, everyone tells me to leave but I love her, I can't lose my daughter and I am so scared of beings alone because I don't think I can fight the thoughts and urges to end it.

Doctor has put me on Fluoxetine because I refused to go back on venlafaxine, the withdrawals were so bad, dizzy, sickness, couldn't sleep.

I just don't know what to do anymore

That all sounds so very painfull.

Have you considered asking your wife if she would be willing to go into couples counselling with you?

As for the meds it sounds like things started to go down for you when you quit them, do you see that too?

How long ago where you described the new meds, are they doing anything yet?

I get the impression an anti d that works for you is very important.