Mental Health Forums

Data's busy couple of weeks

Data

Hi everyone.

Last week I cut down my alcohol. I'd been really binging on the weekend (27th/28th March), but on the Sunday night I stuck to 2 litres of lager, then 1.5 litres Monday, 1 litre Tuesday, and 1 pint on Wednesday (1st April).  I've had no alcohol since.

The week did not end well at work.  I was told I HAD to get some stuff in even if it meant doing it in my own time over easter, and if I didn't get it to work it was up to ME to come up with new ideas as my research project at work is "stuck".

On Friday an agent rang me up to discuss seeing a local company about a new job, I said I could come that evening after work if they didn't mind me not being in a suit.  So I turned up and it was nice, probably a bit easier and less stressful than my job.  I am a computer scientist at the moment whereas this is more like a straightforward programming job.  But the boss is nice.  And the company is friendly.  And its 3 miles away from home, not 28 miles away like my current job.  And after the interview he offered me the job!  its the same money but will save about £2500 a year in travel expenses.

I went home to the family, we went shopping, I shouted at my wife to hurry as I felt bad.  I went to bed with a fever and spent the next couple of days on the loo and shivering with a blanket around me.  I am much better now but still have stomach cramps.  I am going to spare you the descriptions of my illness, but suffice it to say thanks to my wife for steam cleaning the bathroom !!!

Over Easter I accepted the job, and today I told work and submitted my resignation.  I'm hoping the new job will mean an end to the horrendous work-related stress problems I have been having.